2017 Conference Presenters

Click on the name of the presenter to view their biography; and click on the name of the company to view the company website.

Hon. Julie Bishop MP

Australian Minister for Foreign Affairs

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT)

Hon. Mark McGowan MLA


Government of Western Australia

H.E. Dr Jean-Claude Brou

Minister of Industry and Mines

Republic of Cote d'Ivoire

 H.E. Oumarou Idani

Minister of Mines and Quarries

Republic of Burkina Faso

Hon. Dr Kayode Fayemi

Minister of Mines and Steel Development

Federal Republic of Nigeria

Hon. Dan Kazungu

Cabinet Secretary for Mining

Republic of Kenya

Hon. John-Peter Amewu

Minister of Lands and Natural Resources

Republic of Ghana

Hon. Mosebenzi Zwane

Minister of Mineral Resources

Republic of South Africa

Speaker TBC

Ministry of Industry and Mines

Republic of Senegal

Hon. Christopher Yaluma

Minister of Mines, Energy and Water Development

Republic of Zambia

Alkaly Yamoussa Bangoura


Presidential Advisor on Mining

Republic of Guinea

H.E. Gabriel Obiang Lima

Minister of Mines and Hydrocarbons 

Republic of Equatorial Guinea

Hon. Advocate Sadique Kebonang

Ministry of Mineral Resources Green Technology and Energy Security

Republic of Botswana

H.E. Prof Tiémoko Sangare

Minister of Mines

Republic of Mali

H.E. Ato Motuma Mekassa

Minister of Mines, Petroleum and Natural Gas

Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia

H.E. Osheik Mohamed Tahir

State Minister for the Ministry of Minerals

Republic of Sudan

Hon. Keketso Sello

Minister of Mining

Kingdom of Lesotho

H.E. Sindiso Ndema Ngwenya

Secretary General

Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)

Munesushe Munodawafa

Permanent Secretary

Ministry of Mines and Mining Development, Republic of Zimbabwe

Chetnarainsingh Guddye

Head of Department - Outward Investment

Board of Investment - Mauritius

Hon. Alhaji Minkailu Mansaray

Minister of Mines and Mineral Resources

Republic of Sierra Leone

Sekou Hassoumi Aboubacar

Directeur de Cabinet, Ministry of Mines and Industrial Development

Republic of Niger

Hon. Christian Magnagna

Minister of Mines

The Gabonese Republic

H.E. General Sebhat Ehrem

Minister of Energy and Mines

The State of Eritrea

Hon. Martin Kabwelulu Labilo

Minister of Mines

Democratic Republic of Congo

Hon. Pierre Oba

Minister of Mines and Geology

Republic of Congo

Carl De Mon Espoir Andriamparany

Secretary General, Presidency's Department in Charge of Mines and Petroleum

Republic of Madagascar

Adriano Senvano

General Director 

National Institute of Mines, Republic of Mozambique

Kevin Urama

Senior Advisor to the President

African Development Bank (AfDB)

Roger Baxter

Chief Executive Officer

Chamber of Mines of South Africa

Robert Owen-Jones

Assistant Secretary, Australian Competitiveness Branch


Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT)

Kimberley Process

John Welborn

Managing Director and CEO

Resolute Mining Ltd

Phil Loader

Executive Vice President - Global Exploration

Woodside Energy Ltd

Hugh Morgan AC

Louisa Lawrance


Consultant Geologist

Comet Minerals Ltd

Andrew Spinks

Managing Director

Kibaran Resources Ltd

Lisa Sharland

Head of international Program

Australian Strategic Policy Institute

Archie Koimtsidis

Managing Director

Cardinal Resources Ltd

Bertrand Montembault

Patrick Leyden



Herbert Smith Freehills

Nick Martin

Managing Director

Northcott Capital Ltd

Tim Carstens

Managing Director

Base Resources Ltd

Phil Edmands

Partner, Energy and Resources

Gilbert + Tobin

Julian Hanna

Managing Director

MOD Resources Ltd

Andrew Cunningham


Walkabout Resources Ltd

Doug Horak

Interim Chief Executive Officer

Australia Africa Minerals and Energy Group (AAMEG)

Peter Wright


Bass Metals Ltd

Mike Christie

Global Exploration Director

First Quantum Minerals Ltd

Brandon Munro

Managing Director and CEO

Bannerman Resources Ltd

John Cook

Director African Operations

Business for Development

Errol Smart

Managing Director and CEO

Orion Minerals NL

Mark Strizek

Managing Director

Vital Metals Ltd

Brendan Borg

Managing Director

Celsius Resources Ltd

Lindsay Reed

Chief Executive Officer

Minbos Resources Ltd

Jeff Quartermaine

Managing Director and CEO

Perseus Mining Ltd

David Flanagan

Executive Chairman

Battery Minerals Ltd

Ben Gargett



Richard Hyde

Managing Director

West African Resources Ltd

Adam Smits

Chief Operating Officer/Executive Director

Nzuri Copper Ltd

Stephen Stone

Managing Director

Azumah Resources Ltd

Harry Anagnostaras-Adams

Executive Chairman

Kefi Minerals plc

Greg Walker

Chief Executive Officer

Birimian Ltd

John Borshoff

Managing Director/CEO

Deep Yellow Ltd

Rupert Morgan

Executive Director - Structured Credit and Political Risks

Arthur J Gallagher

Paul Roberts

Managing Director

Predictive Discovery Ltd

Craig Mackay

Managing Director

Golden Rim Resources

Simon Youds

Chief Executive Officer

Vector Resources Ltd

Dr Julius Muia

Director General

The Kenya Vision 2030

Stephen Wetherall

Managing Director and CEO

Lucapa Diamond Company Ltd