Conference Programme

The Preliminary Conference Programme is now available (below).

There are very limited presentation opportunities remaining. If you are interested in presenting at the conference please contact Namukale

Tuesday 3 September 2019

10:00Exhibitor bump-in, Conference Level, Pan Pacific Hotel
10:00Registrations Open (Name Badge Collection), Pan Pacific Hotel Lobby
17:00Welcome Reception, Bar Uma (Lobby Lounge), Pan Pacific Hotel – all delegates welcome, sponsored by Australian Stock Exchange Ltd


Wednesday 4 September 2019

Session One

07:15Arrival Tea, Coffee and Registration
08:15Welcome: Bill Repard, Executive Chairman, Paydirt Media Pty Ltd (5)
08:20Opening Address: Hon. Mark McGowan MLA Premier of Western Australia (15)
08:35H.E. Madame Lelenta Hawa Baba Ba, Minister of Mines and Petroleum, Republic of Mali (20)
08:55John Welborn, Managing Director and CEO, Resolute Mining Ltd (25)
09:20Chris Evans, Managing Director, Mali Lithium Ltd (15)
09:35Julian Hanna, Managing Director, MOD Resources Ltd (25)
10:00Questions (5)
10:05Morning Tea, Exhibition Area, sponsored by South African Airways (20)

Session Two

10:25Hon. Gwede Mantashe MP, Minister of Mineral Resources and Energy, Republic of South Africa (20)
10:45Errol Smart, Managing Director and CEO, Orion Minerals Ltd (15)
11:00Tim Carstens, Managing Director, Base Resources Ltd (20)
11:20Tom Revy, Managing Director, BlackEarth Minerals NL (15)
11:35Questions (5)
11:40Q & A: Mitigating and responding to security risks (45)
12:25Lunch, Exhibition Area, sponsored by Solarcentury (50)

Session Three

13:15H.E. Oumarou Idani, Minister for Mines and Quarries, Bukina Faso (20)
13:35Richard Hyde, Managing Director, West African Resources Ltd (15)
13:50Craig Mackay, Managing Director, Golden Rim Resources Ltd (15)
14:05Andrew Cunningham, Director, Walkabout Resources Ltd (15)
14:20Questions (5)
14:25Panel Discussion: Meet the Ambassadors Part One (45)
15:10Afternoon Tea, Exhibition Area, sponsored by Geodrill (20)

Session Four

15:30Hon. Aziz Rabbah, Minister of Energy, Mines and Sustainable Development, Kingdom of Morocco (20)
15:50Richard Taylor, Chief Executive Officer, Terramin Australia Ltd (15)
16:05Kojo Annan, Investor and Entrepreneur; Director, Vector Global (20)
16:25John de Vries, Managing Director and CEO; Black Rock Mining Ltd (15)
16:40Yann Alix, Partner – London, Ashurst (20)
17:00Ollie Marion, Partner – Corporate Tax, PwC (15)
17:15Questions (5)
17:20Presentation of the Australia-Africa Minerals and Energy Group (AAMEG) Awards: William Witham, Chief Executive Officer, AAMEG (30)
17:50Cocktail Function, Exhibition Area

Thursday 5 September 2019

Session Five

07:30Arrival Tea, Coffee and Registration
08:30Keynote Address (20)
08:50Hon. Kwaku Asomah-Cheremeh, Minister of Lands and Natural Resources, Republic of Ghana (20)
09:10Nick Holland, Chief Executive Officer, Gold Fields Ltd (20)
09:30Archie Koimtsidis, Managing Director and CEO, Cardinal Resources Ltd (15)
09:45Bill Guy, Chairman, Theta Gold Mines Ltd (15)
10:00Dave Manning, Global Head of Hybrid, Juwi Renewable Energies Pty Ltd (15)
10:15Questions (5)
10:20Morning Tea, Exhibition Area, sponsored by Ashurst (20)

Session Six

10:40Dr Victor Jânio Correa, Secretary of State for Geology and Mines, Republic of Angola (20)
11:00Stephen Wetherall, Managing Director and CEO, Lucapa Diamond Company Ltd (15)
11:15Lindsay Reed, Chief Executive Officer, Minbos Resources Ltd (15)
11:30Phil Edmands, Partner – Energy and Resources, Gilbert + Tobin Lawyers (20)
11:50Questions (5)
11:55Panel Discussion: Women in Mining (45)
12:40Lunch, Exhibition Area, sponsored by Orezone Drilling (50)

13:00Women in Leadership Lunch, Silver Room, Novotel Perth Langley Hotel

Session Seven

13:30H.E. Pr. Aissatou Sophie Gladima, Minister of Mines and Geology, Republic of Senegal (20)
13:50Moses Tshetlhane, Deputy Director, Department of Mineral Affairs Division, Ministry of Mineral Resources, Green Technology and Energy Security, Republic of Botswana (20)
14:10Jeremy Sinclair, Managing Director, Battery Minerals Ltd (25)
14:35William Witham, Chief Executive Officer, Australia Africa Minerals and Energy Group (AAMEG) (15)
14:50Rupert Morgan, Executive Director – Structured Political Risks, Gallagher UK (15)
15:05Questions (5)
15:10Afternoon Tea, Exhibition Area, sponsored by SkyTEM (20)

Session Eight

15:30Hon. Jean Claude Kouassi, Minister of Geology and Mines, Republic of Ivory Coast (20)
15:50Justin Tremain, Managing Director, Exore Resources Ltd (15)
16:05Peter Ledwidge, Managing Director, Mako Gold Ltd (15)
16:20Steve Parsons, Executive Director, African Gold Ltd (15)
16:35H.E. Dr Samuel Urkato, Minister of Mines and Petroleum, Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia (20)
16:55Jason de Carteret Africa Development Director Solarcentury Ltd (15)
17:10 Questions (5)
17:15Panel Discussion: Financing projects in Africa – hoops, hurdles and fish bottoms (45)
18:00Cocktail Function, Exhibition Area

Friday 6 September 2019

Session Nine

08:30Arrival Tea, Coffee and Registration
09:00Dr Abdulkadir Mu’azu, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Mines and Steel Development, Federal Republic of Nigeria (20)
09:20Hugh Morgan AC, Director, and Louise Lawrance, Consultant Geologist, Comet Minerals Ltd (20)
09:40Andrew Spinks, Managing Director, Kibaran Resources Ltd (15)
09:55Jason Brewer, Managing Director, Force Commodities Ltd (15)
10:10Kingdom of Morocco, Speaker TBA (20)
10:30Bertrand Montembault, Partner, Herbert Smith Freehills (20)
10:50Questions (5)
10:55Morning Tea, Exhibition Area, sponsored by PCF Capital Group (20)

Session Ten

11:15Panel Discussion: Meet the Ambassadors Part TwoAustralian and African diplomatic corps come together to discuss the landscape for investment in their respective regions (45)
12:00Hon. Winston Chitando, Minister of Mines and Mining Development, Republic of Zimbabwe (20)
12:20Mike Christie, Director – Exploration, First Quantum Minerals Ltd (20)
12:40Len Kolff, Chief Operating Officer, IronRidge Resources Ltd (15)
12:55Eddie Grieve, Head of Listings and Issuer Services, Australian Stock Exchange Ltd (15)
13:10Questions (5)
13:15Lunch, Exhibition Area (60)

Session Eleven

14:15Hon. Gesler Murray, Minister of Mines and Energy, Republic of Liberia (20)
14:35Peter Clarke, General Manager Industry Engagement, METS Ignited Australia Ltd (20)
14:55Speaker TBA (15)
15:10Dr Marina Confait, Principal Secretary – Department of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Seychelles (20)
15:30Questions (5)
15:35Afternoon Tea, Exhibition Area (20)

Session Twelve

15:55H.E. Dr Abbas Elshaikh Mohamed Salih, Undersecretary and Acting Minister of Minerals, Republic of Sudan (20)
16:15Colin Roberts, Chairman, Salternas Ltd (15)
16:30Questions (5)
16:35Closing Panel Discussion (45)
17:20Closing Drinks, Bar Uma (Lobby Lounge), sponsored by PwC